Shooting Twice At the Same Target
I’ve been helping a gentleman learn to shoot skeet. He’s shot trap and some sporting clays and recently started shooting skeet, and he’s interested in shooting registered skeet. I’ve worked with him once or twice a week for the last month, and he’s picking the game up pretty fast, but today he shot twice at the same target.
I had to explain to him that this is something that would get him removed from an event as it’s a safety violation. If you get into the habit of shooting twice at the same target during practice, chances are you may inadvertently do the same during a registered shoot.
If during competition you shoot at the same target twice, the referee will warn you. If you do it a second time in any event, you will be disqualified from the event. Missing a shot is frustrating, but shooting at it a second time is—as stated above—a safety violation, and those are the most serious violations.
Barry Hartmann is an NSSA Master Level and NRA Certified shotgun instructor who can help you improve your skills at American Skeet and wingshooting. To contact Barry, email him at firstname.lastname@example.org or give him a call at (918)803-2393.